Union Philosophical Society

                    The Union Philosophical Society is an all male society that was founded in 1789. As of 1934 it had thirty members and was looking to expand. The society's president was Luther Linn, it's secretary J. Arnold Jacobs, treasurer W.W. Brown, and it's critic Martin O. Kahn. The leadership positions were held by members of Kappa Sigma, Phi Delta Theta, and Theta Chi fraternities and showed no signs of greek bias. It held weekly meetings in which the aim was the discussion of literature. The group focused mainly on modern literature of the time and also discussed current events. The group was interested in exploring all sides of current and controversial events and looking analytically at modern literature.

click to view photo

back to student org. home page

Class of 1934     Chronicles

Dickinson College

Dickinson 1934 is a project of Prof. Osborne's History 204 Class, Fall Semester 2000.