Presidents and the Board of Trustees

    The class of 1934 had three Presidents during their years at Dickinson College.  First President Filler passed away due to a health illness.  The office was temporarily replaced by President Morgan, and then by President Waugh.  The latter however proved too progressive for the Board of Trustees and he shortly was forced to resign.  Morgan again became president confusing and "devitalizing" the student body.  The Board of Trustees failed to give the student body a satisfactory explanation for Waugh's resignation.  Also, the Trustees had failed to explain the replacement of Dean Seller with Dean VuilleumierThe Dickinsonian published articles on these aspects and listed student grievances with the Board.

(President Filler)                                           (President Morgan)

(The Dickinsonian, Nov. 2, 1933)


Class of 1934     Chronicles

Dickinson College

Dickinson 1934 is a project of Prof. Osborne's History 204 Class, Fall Semester 2000.